Updates and a Quick Recommendation

Hey all,

My editor has informed me that I should be getting my notes back on Six Sacred Swords today.

Without knowing the scope of what I need to change, it’s tough to give an exact release date – but I’m reasonably confident it will be before the end of the month. In a best case scenario, it might even be within the next week, but I don’t want to make any promises.

In the meantime, I have a book recommendation.

The Ruin of Kings

The Ruin of Kings is the first novel in A Chorus of Dragons by Jenn Lyons. I was lucky enough to be able to read an early copy, and I absolutely loved it. Early reviews are comparing it to everything from Game of Thrones to The Name of the Wind and Lies of Locke Lamora – and I see elements of all of those in there.

Essentially, it has a Locke-esque rogue protagonist, but he’s telling his own story (Kvothe style), in a setting with a lot of Game of Thrones style political intrigue. There’s a frame story as well, as well as some other narrator fun – but I won’t spoil that. Overall, I’d actually say the feel of the story is probably closest to Locke Lamora, with some amazing atmosphere, characters, and world building.

…and it has footnotes! Footnotes!

I probably shouldn’t be so excited about that, but I am. You’ll see why if you check it out.

If you’re in the mood for a darker epic with tons of interesting characters and intrigue, I strongly recommend this book.

I’ll post another update when I have a better idea of how long my edits are going to take (or possibly when the book is out, if it ends up being really quick).

9 thoughts on “Updates and a Quick Recommendation

  1. I love the books and was wondering if you maybe converting them into a tabletop version. I love the magic system that you have put in place and all the possibilities that player could use them in. Thank you for the awesome books.

    1. Yes, I have a tabletop RPG system in progress. It’ll probably be a long time (years) before I actually finish it, though, because I’m prioritizing writing more novels first. =)

      1. Woah, I didnt think other people would have the idea. Im currently in the proccess of writing a ttrpg based on the world for my friends and I. Im doing my best to directly translate the world into rpg format, with a few simplifacations. Im actually well on my way to having it done, and my friend and I are going to co-dm it. This is actually why I want to know more magic theroy, so as to make the magic system as cohesive as possible, i currently have to take a few liberties to make it wor, and the more I know about magic the less I have to take. Currently the system is based on a 2d6 free form story telling system where the characters are aspireing spire climbers in velia. Im eager to see how you envision your own world as an RPG.

  2. I have just listened to book 2, On the Shoulders of Titans (through Audible).
    So good. Can’t wait for book 3. But don´t stress, make as good or better as the two previous ones 🙂

    /peter

  3. Thank you for the reply. I can’t wait to see how the story progresses from here. I have just finished listening to “On The Shoulders of Titans” and I am itching for the “Six Sacred Swords” story. But in the mean time I will have to listen to all 4 of the books again. I was also wondering how big your world is. How many other continents there are.

    1. You’re welcome!

      I’m hoping to wrap Six Sacred Swords up very soon, and we’ll try to get the audio out more quickly this time.

      I’m going to say “read and find out” about the continents. I will say that I’m already in progress for a story on a third continent, and I have a full novel on a fourth continent that I never released. I won’t say if there are even more. =)

  4. I’ll check it out. Also upon reading On the Shoulders of titans again I’ve decided I want Keras to end up with Corens mom. Magnus is the worst and Keras is already a better dad than him, you should make it official. Also super excited about all the Cecily Coren time coming in the next book!

  5. I doubt that about Corin’s Mom and Keras. However, I am expecting his Mother to make him her official heir to House Lyran, and Corin may even stop using the Cadence Name after that. Tristan or Sera can be the Heir to House Cadence. From some thoughts we have seen from Corin, I think that he is not planning to go back to House Cadence as a Home, unless Tristan can leave the Tower and help pull his family back together.

Leave a comment