Series Info

This page contains general information about the different series which are in progress or which have been completed. If you want the most recent news on release dates and status updates, you should subscribe to the blog mailing list here.

The War of Broken Mirrors

The War of Broken Mirrors is the most serious series. It is written from a third-person limited perspective with multiple perspective characters. The series focuses more on political intrigue and subterfuge than the others. Some inspirations for this series include Brandon Sanderson’s Warbreaker and the many various Forgotten Realms and Dragonlance novels.

This series is finished, however there are still plot threads in the series which are not yet done. Some elements of the story continue in Weapons and Wielders. Other elements will continue in other, future novels.

Weapons and Wielders

Weapons and Wielders is the most straightforward and lighthearted series, focusing on action, comedy, and adventure. It follows Keras Selyrian, a powerful swordsman, as he searches for the Six Sacred Swords – and gets a lot more than he bargained for in the process. Some of the main inspirations for this series are The Legend of Zelda, Dragon Quest, and Ys.

This series is still ongoing. The current plan is for Weapons and Wielders to last 6-7 books, but this may change as the series progresses.

Arcane Ascension

Arcane Ascension has a heavy focus on learning and exploring how magic works and how it can be exploited. This series has a mix of magical school content and dungeon crawling. If you like magical schools, read this one first. If you don’t, consider one of the other series.Some inspirations for this series include Final Fantasy, Azure Dreams, Ys, Tower of Druaga, The Legend of Heroes, Tower of God, Bravely Default, Lufia and the Fortress of Doom, SaGa, and Hunter x Hunter.

This series is the most popular starting point, although it comes last chronologically. You can read more about reading order here. Arcane Ascension is still in progress. The current plan is for this series to be 6-7 books long, but this may be extended as the series develops.

Standalone Books

How to Defeat a Demon King in Ten Easy Steps is currently the only standalone book. This novella takes place in a different universe from the other books and is completely disconnected from them. This book is a satirical, stand-alone parody of classic games like Final Fantasy, Dragon Quest, and The Legend of Zelda.

There may be more standalone novels in the future, however the current priority is completing the announced and ongoing main series. A Demon King sequel or spinoff is not currently planned.