Novels by Andrew Rowe

There are currently three novel series by Andrew Rowe, all of which take place in the same universe. These books have some related elements, including one character that appears across all three series, but they’re designed to be read in any order.

Chronologically, the books follow this order:

The individual books in each series are as follows:

The War of Broken Mirrors Series

Forging Divinity

Stealing Sorcery

Defying Destiny

Arcane Ascension Series

Sufficiently Advanced Magic

On the Shoulders of Titans

Arcane Ascension Book 3 (Coming Soon)


Weapons and Wielders Series

Six Sacred Swords


Soulbrand (Coming Soon)

While these books are all in the same universe, they have slightly different styles.

  • The War of Broken Mirrors is the most serious, and it’s written from a third-person limited perspective with multiple perspective characters. It has more political intrigue and subterfuge than the other books.
    • Some inspirations for this series include Brandon Sanderson’s Warbreaker and the many various Forgotten Realms and Dragonlance novels.
    • The heroes are:
      • Lydia, a paladin of a goddess of magic who has infiltrated the government of Orlyn, a city that claims to be able to raise mortals into gods.
      • Taelien, a powerful young swordman who bears a legendary sword he cannot properly control.
      • Jonan, an agent of the legendary Lady of Thieves with a talent for illusions.
      • A fourth perspective is introduced in the second book, but telling you who they are would be a spoiler.
  • Weapons and Wielders is the most straightforward and lighthearted series, focusing on action, comedy, and adventure. It follows Keras Selyrian, a powerful swordsman, as he searches for the Six Sacred Swords – and gets a lot more than he bargained for in the process.
    • Some of the main inspirations for this series are The Legend of Zelda, Dragon Quest, and Ys.
  • Arcane Ascension has a heavy focus on learning and exploring how magic works and how it can be exploited. It follows Corin Cadence, the younger son of House Cadence, as he attempts to learn magic in an effort to follow the footsteps of his brother, Tristan, who disappeared into the colossal Serpent Spire five years before.
    • This series is the most popular starting point, in spite of taking place last in the chronological order. Don’t worry – you can start here without any trouble understanding it if you want to.
    • This series has a mix of magical school content and dungeon crawling. If you like magical schools, read this one first. If you don’t, consider one of the other series.
    • Some inspirations for this series include Final Fantasy, Azure Dreams, Ys, Tower of Druaga, The Legend of Heroes, Tower of God, Bravely Default, Lufia and the Fortress of Doom, SaGa, and Hunter x Hunter.

Finally, there’s How to Defeat a Demon King in Ten Easy Steps, which is completely unrelated to the above books. It’s a stand-alone parody of classic games like Final Fantasy, Dragon Quest, and The Legend of Zelda.