Looks like I’ve got a few new readers! I’d like to welcome you all to the blog, as well as give everyone some information and updates on what I’ve been working on.

Different Series, Same Universe

For those of you who aren’t already aware, I’m currently working on two main series.

The first is the War of Broken Mirrors, an epic fantasy series starting with Forging Divinity.

The second series  is Arcane Ascension, a JRPG-inspired magical academy/dungeon crawling series starting with Sufficiently Advanced Magic.

These series take place in the same universe, but I’ve been deliberately vague about how they’re connected…for now. There are already some significant hints in Sufficiently Advanced Magic about how they relate to each other, and you’ll be seeing more of them in the next books for each series.

They will eventually cross over more directly, but I don’t want to spoil the surprise about when or how.

Status Report

I’m currently focusing most of my efforts on Defying Destiny, the third book in the War of Broken Mirrors series. I recently reworked the outline, and the new version of the outline is completed. I’ve just recently started writing in earnest, and I’m currently about two chapters in (out of a projected 30 chapters). I’m hoping to have the first draft done by around June, roughly corresponding with my original planned release. I think it’s more likely the book will actually hit the market around July to August, unless I can pick up speed (which is possible).

While I’m working on that, I’m also outlining the sequel to Sufficiently Advanced Magic, and I’ve started a bit of the pre-writing for it as well. I have a tremendous number of events that I’m already planning to cover in the second book, including several things that were heavily foreshadowed in the first book. I won’t say more right now to avoid spoiling the first book for anyone who hasn’t read it yet.

I’m currently targeting the beginning of 2018 for the sequel, but I’ll try to get it ready earlier if it’s possible to do that without sacrificing any quality.

I have two other side projects that are lower priorities. They’re both “hard” LitRPGs, for those of you who are familiar with that genre. In both cases, I intend to make the protagonists members of the gaming industry, which I think will be a fun twist on the usual tropes of the genre.

I also have a short story about a geriatric dark lord who is dealing with summoned heroes showing up and ruining things; this may or may not turn into a full novel at some point.

Thanks for reading, hope you’re all having a great weekend!

