House of Blades by Will Wight, one of my favorite authors, is currently free in Kindle format on Amazon. I’d highly recommend it. It’s the first book of the Traveler’s Gate series, a deconstruction of the typical “Chosen One” arc where the main character is an ordinary teenager who grew up in the same village as the Chosen One…
…and unfortunately ended up being a part of that Chosen One’s tragic backstory.
It’s a great spin on such a traditional premise. The series also has some of the best combat I’ve ever read. It’s essentially a shonen anime in novel format, and I’d say it was a big inspiration (along with Brandon Sanderson’s works) for my own flashy anime-style combat scenes.
You can find the book here.
I’d also strongly recommend his Cradle series, which I consider even stronger, but House of Blades is definitely worth a read.
