Just a quick shout out for a book that I read recently and enjoyed, Ascend Online by Luke Chmilenko.

As I’ve mentioned previously, one of my next books is going to be in the up-and-coming “LitRPG” genre. For those who are unfamiliar, this genre involves people either playing games, being transported into game-like worlds, or just characters living in video game style settings. As a game designer, the genre is a natural fit for me, and I’ve loved anime in the genre like Log Horizon, Overlord, etc.

Unfortunately, I haven’t enjoyed a lot of the Western LitRPG novels. They often fall into tropes I don’t enjoy or depict the gaming industry in ways that don’t make any sense. Ascend Online is the first major exception; I enjoyed it from start to finish, and I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in the genre.

The systems made sense, the characters were interesting (the puma is the best), and the general focus of the story was small enough in scale that I found it much more immersive than the usual life-or-death situations that these books often have.

You can read my full review on Amazon here if you’re interested. The book itself can be found here.

If you’re curious about my own books status, Attuned is currently sitting with my professional editor, and I’m hard at work on making changes based on my beta reader feedback. I’m also getting further into the writing on Defying Destiny – I’ve got the foundations of the first chapters for Lydia and Taelien, as well as an updated outline.

